Willamette Announces Inductees for Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2019

Willamette Announces Inductees for Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2019

By Robert McKinney, Assistant Athletics Director, Communications

SALEM, Ore. -- The Willamette University Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2019 has been announced by Director of Athletics Rob Passage. The induction ceremony will be held on Saturday, Oct. 12 at the Cat Cavern on the Willamette campus, starting with a reception at 12 p.m. (PDT) to be followed by the Hall of Fame inductions at 1 p.m.

Several inductees this year were recommended by the Legends Committee of the Hall of the Fame. The Legends Committee nominates possible inductees who completed their Willamette athletic careers at least 25 years ago.

The Class of 2019 includes the 1983 women's swimming team and the 1993 men's tennis team. Also included are 13 individual student-athletes, plus former Sports Information Director Cliff Voliva, who was selected for meritorious service. The most recent graduate to be chosen for induction this year is Brandon Bennett in football. Bennett graduated from Willamette in 2007.

Here is this year's list of inductees:


Alicia Andrews '05
Track and Field

Bonnie (Bauer) Flynn '97

Brandon Bennett '07

Heidi Buckmaster '90
Track and Field/Volleyball

Ryan Hazelbaker '00

Dirk Hmura '92
Men's Soccer

Larry Lynn '61

Chrys (Odell) Randolph '83

Alicia (Potter) Nelson '94

Todd Simis '90 MAT '91

Lisa (Starkey) Ott '01
Track and Field

Kendra Wheeler '84

Aaron Young '04
Cross Country/Track and Field


Cliff Voliva
Sports Information Director, 1986-02


1983 Women's Swimming

Gayle (Roth) Cutaia '86
Kendra Wheeler '84
Christina (Odell) Randolph '83
Lesley (Wilday) Deuster '86
Diane (Fitzgerald) Bliesner '84
Gigi (Hunt) Agidius '85
Darci (Piper) Niemann '86
Lisa Pruyn '83
Kristen Olsen '86
Suzie (Reinhart) Ness '84
Jennifer (Jacobi) Andres '86
Julie Conrad '85
Jenna Calk '84

1993 Men's Tennis

Jim Barrett '95 *
Jeff Curl '93
Judd Esch '95
Jeremy Larson '94
Erik Norland '95
Craig Norland '95
Andrew Shipman '93
Ian Sigmund '94
Alan Vestergaard '95

* Posthumous induction